International Baccalaureate

There are three levels of International Baccalaureate (IB) Program:

  • Primary Years Program (PYP) for grades K-5
  • Middle Years Program (MYP) for grades 6-10
  • Diploma Program for grades 11-12

Primary Years Program (PYP), for grades K-5, introduces specific vocabulary and concepts including inquiry-based learning, PYP attitudes/character traits, and the learner profile. School staff members develop units of inquiry that connect subject areas so students can view their studies holistically. The PYP emphasizes academic development, international understanding, and service to society. The curriculum framework includes five essential elements: Concepts, Actions, Skills, Knowledge, and Attitudes.

Middle Years Program (MYP), for grades 6-10, emphasizes the learner profiles and focuses on an intensive study of core subjects integrating internationalism and areas of interaction: Approaches to Learning, Community and Service, Health and Social Education, Environment, and Human Ingenuity. Students study a variety of disciplines and how these relate.

Diploma Program (DP), for grades 11-12, is a two-year curriculum and the most academically rigorous program offered in high school. The program emphasizes intellectual and international understanding, as well as responsible citizenship and community service. Students sit for international exams with the opportunity to earn the IB Diploma, a highly esteemed qualification widely recognized by institutions of higher learning.

Please visit the IBO website for more information:

For information on applying to an IB magnet program in CMS, please visit the Magnet Programs website at: